JasonWoof Got questions, comments, patches, etc.? Contact Jason Woofenden
vor.git
3 years agofix a couple typos in the change log master
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 22 May 2016 21:56:09 +0000 (17:56 -0400)]
fix a couple typos in the change log

3 years agobump version to 0.5.7
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 22 May 2016 21:07:47 +0000 (17:07 -0400)]
bump version to 0.5.7

3 years agowork around compiler warnings in high score read
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 22 May 2016 21:02:35 +0000 (17:02 -0400)]
work around compiler warnings in high score read

Check return values of fscanf() (just bail early if it fails)

Don't use titles as scanf templates, compiler can't seem to figure out that
these come from string literals. Insteadd use fscanf(..., strlen...)

3 years agomake note about povray-includes
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 11 Feb 2016 03:35:00 +0000 (22:35 -0500)]
make note about povray-includes

4 years agoversion bump to 0.5.6 0.5.6
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 11 Feb 2016 03:24:17 +0000 (22:24 -0500)]
version bump to 0.5.6

5 years agocode formatting: indentation, arg name
Jason Woofenden [Sat, 24 May 2014 07:03:07 +0000 (03:03 -0400)]
code formatting: indentation, arg name

6 years agofix "Building From Git" instructions
Jason Woofenden [Sat, 30 Nov 2013 03:24:18 +0000 (22:24 -0500)]
fix "Building From Git" instructions

7 years agoOnly use ./data if it contains b_variotions.png
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 22 Apr 2012 20:22:32 +0000 (16:22 -0400)]
Only use ./data if it contains b_variotions.png

7 years agorewrite cross-compile instructions to MXE method
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 22 Apr 2012 19:58:41 +0000 (15:58 -0400)]
rewrite cross-compile instructions to MXE method

and convert INSTALL file to markdown format

9 years agomake space key pause too
Jason Woofenden [Sat, 19 Feb 2011 03:25:44 +0000 (22:25 -0500)]
make space key pause too

9 years agocompile on debian unstable
Jason Woofenden [Sat, 19 Feb 2011 03:25:12 +0000 (22:25 -0500)]
compile on debian unstable

9 years agodestroy some rocks with bang dots
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 25 Jan 2011 09:18:40 +0000 (04:18 -0500)]
destroy some rocks with bang dots

9 years agofix typo in INSTALL
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 6 Jan 2011 17:31:37 +0000 (12:31 -0500)]
fix typo in INSTALL

9 years agoImprove autoconf detection of sdl(_image|_mixer)
Jason Woofenden [Fri, 12 Nov 2010 11:16:28 +0000 (06:16 -0500)]
Improve autoconf detection of sdl(_image|_mixer)

This commit makes VoR cross-compile for windows on linux using stock
mingw-cross-env (make sdl-image sdl-mixer) with just

./configure --host=i686-pc-mingw32 && make

This removes the m4 craziness and instead relies on pkg-config to tell us how
to compile and link against SDL.

pkg-config files for SDL_image and SDL_mixer are used if found, but are not
required (they default to -lSDL_image and -lSDL_mixer respectively.)

Also the check for a symbol in SDL_mixer was updated to try to check for vorbis
support.

10 years agoAutomatically check for the presence of nanosleep.
Josh Grams [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 01:07:01 +0000 (20:07 -0500)]
Automatically check for the presence of nanosleep.

10 years agofont.c: don't assume 3 bytes per pixel
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 10 Dec 2009 02:44:25 +0000 (21:44 -0500)]
font.c: don't assume 3 bytes per pixel

10 years agoversion bump to 0.5.5 0.5.5
Jason Woofenden [Wed, 9 Dec 2009 20:31:23 +0000 (15:31 -0500)]
version bump to 0.5.5

10 years agofixed maintainer-clean (to also distclean)
Jason Woofenden [Wed, 9 Dec 2009 20:59:38 +0000 (15:59 -0500)]
fixed maintainer-clean (to also distclean)

10 years agosymlink to data dir so you can run the game from the build dir
Jason Woofenden [Wed, 9 Dec 2009 20:54:25 +0000 (15:54 -0500)]
symlink to data dir so you can run the game from the build dir

10 years ago* Makefile.in: warn builders about maintainer-clean.
Josh Grams [Wed, 9 Dec 2009 20:30:41 +0000 (15:30 -0500)]
* Makefile.in: warn builders about maintainer-clean.

10 years ago* Makefile.in: autoconfiscate bindir properly.
Josh Grams [Wed, 9 Dec 2009 20:30:22 +0000 (15:30 -0500)]
* Makefile.in: autoconfiscate bindir properly.

10 years agoseparate build dir works again
Jason Woofenden [Wed, 9 Dec 2009 20:21:21 +0000 (15:21 -0500)]
separate build dir works again

10 years agocompile in version number from configure.ac
Jason Woofenden [Wed, 9 Dec 2009 19:44:27 +0000 (14:44 -0500)]
compile in version number from configure.ac

10 years agoAutoconf: separate build dir, distclean, dir vars.
Josh Grams [Sat, 28 Nov 2009 01:11:53 +0000 (20:11 -0500)]
Autoconf: separate build dir, distclean, dir vars.

10 years agoforget nanosleep() where it's not supported (eg on Windows)
Jason Woofenden [Wed, 11 Nov 2009 18:43:41 +0000 (13:43 -0500)]
forget nanosleep() where it's not supported (eg on Windows)

10 years agoAdded a 1ns sleep after every frame
Jason Woofenden [Mon, 2 Nov 2009 01:58:36 +0000 (20:58 -0500)]
Added a 1ns sleep after every frame

This made the game run much smoother on Josh's debian box.

10 years agoupdated INSTALL for new build system
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 25 Jun 2009 09:22:20 +0000 (05:22 -0400)]
updated INSTALL for new build system

10 years agomore autoconfiscation. added .desktop generation
Jason Woofenden [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 20:58:47 +0000 (16:58 -0400)]
more autoconfiscation. added .desktop generation

"make install" prints a message about how to install the desktop file

10 years agognu autoconf docs say input should be named configure.ac
Jason Woofenden [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 19:31:21 +0000 (15:31 -0400)]
gnu autoconf docs say input should be named configure.ac

10 years agochecking for SDL properly, and building again.
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 06:37:09 +0000 (02:37 -0400)]
checking for SDL properly, and building again.

10 years agoadded install-sh from grep
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 05:46:27 +0000 (01:46 -0400)]
added install-sh from grep

10 years agomade common-sense changes to configure.in
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 05:37:52 +0000 (01:37 -0400)]
made common-sense changes to configure.in

10 years agoconfigure.in as generated by autoconf
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 05:29:23 +0000 (01:29 -0400)]
configure.in as generated by autoconf

10 years agorenamed config.h -> vorconfig.h and Makefile -> Makefile.in
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 05:20:12 +0000 (01:20 -0400)]
renamed config.h -> vorconfig.h and Makefile -> Makefile.in

10 years agobumped version number to 0.5.4 0.5.4
Jason Woofenden [Fri, 29 May 2009 03:37:50 +0000 (23:37 -0400)]
bumped version number to 0.5.4

10 years agocreate all install dirs and parents is needed
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 28 May 2009 20:47:38 +0000 (16:47 -0400)]
create all install dirs and parents is needed

10 years agoinstall into /usr/local/bin and /usr/local/share/vor by default to follow gnu coding...
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 28 May 2009 20:41:30 +0000 (16:41 -0400)]
install into /usr/local/bin and /usr/local/share/vor by default to follow gnu coding standards

10 years agochanged default prefix to /usr/local
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 28 May 2009 02:55:20 +0000 (22:55 -0400)]
changed default prefix to /usr/local

10 years agofail properly if bindir doesn't exist
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 28 May 2009 01:04:03 +0000 (21:04 -0400)]
fail properly if bindir doesn't exist

10 years agomade compiling verbose
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 28 May 2009 00:42:08 +0000 (20:42 -0400)]
made compiling verbose

10 years agofixed race condition in "make install"
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 28 May 2009 00:36:36 +0000 (20:36 -0400)]
fixed race condition in "make install"

10 years agostopped trying to set the owner and group of the executable to "games"
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 28 May 2009 00:32:29 +0000 (20:32 -0400)]
stopped trying to set the owner and group of the executable to "games"

10 years ago* Makefile: add DESTDIR and use GNU install dir names.
Josh Grams [Wed, 27 May 2009 23:47:40 +0000 (19:47 -0400)]
* Makefile: add DESTDIR and use GNU install dir names.

10 years agomade "make install" work for non-root users
Jason Woofenden [Wed, 27 May 2009 02:06:18 +0000 (22:06 -0400)]
made "make install" work for non-root users

10 years agoFixed Makefile so we don't have to ship font_guts and font_guts.pov in the tarball
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 26 May 2009 23:17:24 +0000 (19:17 -0400)]
Fixed Makefile so we don't have to ship font_guts and font_guts.pov in the tarball

10 years agoreplaced music with original work by Jason Woofenden (public domain)
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 26 May 2009 23:04:36 +0000 (19:04 -0400)]
replaced music with original work by Jason Woofenden (public domain)

10 years ago* args.c: delete talk about arguments to options, since we have none.
Josh Grams [Sun, 26 Apr 2009 23:47:26 +0000 (19:47 -0400)]
* args.c: delete talk about arguments to options, since we have none.

10 years agofixed bug where screen wasn't redrawn when paused and toggling fullscreen mode
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 26 Apr 2009 19:38:48 +0000 (15:38 -0400)]
fixed bug where screen wasn't redrawn when paused and toggling fullscreen mode

10 years agofixed screenshot code so you can take more than one (and won't overwrite previous...
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 26 Apr 2009 16:03:20 +0000 (12:03 -0400)]
fixed screenshot code so you can take more than one (and won't overwrite previous screenshot(s)) and documented the feature

10 years agoadded playing instructions (keybindings mostly) to README
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 26 Apr 2009 19:57:14 +0000 (15:57 -0400)]
added playing instructions (keybindings mostly) to README

10 years agoadded keys (f and f11) to toggle full-screen mode
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 26 Apr 2009 05:36:43 +0000 (01:36 -0400)]
added keys (f and f11) to toggle full-screen mode

10 years agostop busy-waiting while paused
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 26 Apr 2009 05:22:22 +0000 (01:22 -0400)]
stop busy-waiting while paused

10 years agomusic pauses when game pauses and ends when game ends
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 26 Apr 2009 05:18:09 +0000 (01:18 -0400)]
music pauses when game pauses and ends when game ends

10 years agoImproved keybindings: support numbad stearing instead of dvorak, support 'pause'...
Jason Woofenden [Sun, 26 Apr 2009 00:06:25 +0000 (20:06 -0400)]
Improved keybindings: support numbad stearing instead of dvorak, support 'pause' and 'print screen' keys, cleaned up detection of pause/screenshot keys

10 years agoRaised default high-scores. Alligned seconds for high scores < 1:00
Jason Woofenden [Sat, 25 Apr 2009 16:25:18 +0000 (12:25 -0400)]
Raised default high-scores. Alligned seconds for high scores < 1:00

10 years agoReplaced explosion with public domain version and deleted unused .wav files.
Jason Woofenden [Fri, 20 Mar 2009 05:30:40 +0000 (01:30 -0400)]
Replaced explosion with public domain version and deleted unused .wav files.
Renamed explosion noise bang.wav for consistency and made music quieter.

11 years agofinish high-score entry on KP_ENTER too
Jason Woofenden [Mon, 2 Feb 2009 00:03:08 +0000 (19:03 -0500)]
finish high-score entry on KP_ENTER too

11 years agomade cursor blink when entering a high score
Jason Woofenden [Sat, 31 Jan 2009 03:56:39 +0000 (22:56 -0500)]
made cursor blink when entering a high score

11 years agoadded Makefile.win_cross for cross-compiling the windows binary on linux
jason [Mon, 21 Apr 2008 03:13:02 +0000 (23:13 -0400)]
added Makefile.win_cross for cross-compiling the windows binary on linux

12 years agoadded macicon.png to gfx.mk
Jason Woofenden [Sat, 15 Sep 2007 06:21:23 +0000 (02:21 -0400)]
added macicon.png to gfx.mk

12 years agoresolved conflict 0.5.3
Jason Woofenden [Sat, 9 Jun 2007 06:00:16 +0000 (02:00 -0400)]
resolved conflict

12 years agocommented out framerate printf
Jason Woofenden [Sat, 9 Jun 2007 00:06:06 +0000 (20:06 -0400)]
commented out framerate printf

12 years agoMarked version 0.5.3.
Joshua Grams [Thu, 10 May 2007 11:20:56 +0000 (11:20 +0000)]
Marked version 0.5.3.

12 years ago* main.c: wrapped call to autopilot_fix_keystates.
Joshua Grams [Tue, 8 May 2007 23:39:22 +0000 (23:39 +0000)]
* main.c: wrapped call to autopilot_fix_keystates.

12 years agofixed crashes, autopilot working
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 8 May 2007 06:38:56 +0000 (02:38 -0400)]
fixed crashes, autopilot working
new engine dots are checked to be on the screen
ship bouncing always gets the ship back on the screen
ship is bounced onto screen before exploading (so bang dots always start on the screen)
ship now has (unreasonably high) maximum speed
Autopilot works (hits random keys) and has commandline options -a --autopilot

12 years agofixed wide bitmask bug
Jason Woofenden [Thu, 3 May 2007 14:16:07 +0000 (10:16 -0400)]
fixed wide bitmask bug

12 years agominimum frame time: 100ms, sprites grid includes just off the right/bottom,
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 1 May 2007 10:14:10 +0000 (06:14 -0400)]
minimum frame time: 100ms, sprites grid includes just off the right/bottom,

12 years agofixed x coordinate range for new_rocks()
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 3 Apr 2007 21:20:40 +0000 (17:20 -0400)]
fixed x coordinate range for new_rocks()

12 years agopixels push rocks with their difference in speed, not their absolute velocity
Jason Woofenden [Mon, 2 Apr 2007 22:44:12 +0000 (18:44 -0400)]
pixels push rocks with their difference in speed, not their absolute velocity

12 years agotesting shared repo thing
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 27 Mar 2007 22:05:01 +0000 (18:05 -0400)]
testing shared repo thing

12 years agofound another place where it said 0.5.1 0.5.2
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 27 Mar 2007 21:59:42 +0000 (17:59 -0400)]
found another place where it said 0.5.1

12 years agobumped version number
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 27 Mar 2007 21:10:50 +0000 (17:10 -0400)]
bumped version number

12 years agofclip() and fwrap() now shrink range by SMIDGE
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 27 Mar 2007 21:07:51 +0000 (17:07 -0400)]
fclip() and fwrap() now shrink range by SMIDGE

12 years agobumped version to 0.5.1 0.5.1
Joshua Grams [Wed, 7 Mar 2007 22:14:11 +0000 (22:14 +0000)]
bumped version to 0.5.1

12 years agosurf_screen and t_frame are globals; stopped passing them as arguments.
Joshua Grams [Mon, 5 Mar 2007 19:47:21 +0000 (19:47 +0000)]
surf_screen and t_frame are globals; stopped passing them as arguments.

12 years agoDeleted unused SFont sources.
Joshua Grams [Mon, 5 Mar 2007 19:46:59 +0000 (19:46 +0000)]
Deleted unused SFont sources.

12 years ago* main.c: combined dot drawing functions.
Joshua Grams [Mon, 5 Mar 2007 15:44:08 +0000 (15:44 +0000)]
* main.c: combined dot drawing functions.

12 years ago* main.c (enginedots, bangdots): combined into a single dot type.
Joshua Grams [Mon, 5 Mar 2007 13:01:26 +0000 (13:01 +0000)]
* main.c (enginedots, bangdots): combined into a single dot type.

12 years ago* float.h (fwrap, fclip): new file.
Joshua Grams [Mon, 5 Mar 2007 12:33:24 +0000 (12:33 +0000)]
* float.h (fwrap, fclip): new file.

12 years ago* dust.c (zero): correct lower bound for wrapping to avoid loss of precision.
Joshua Grams [Sun, 4 Mar 2007 13:42:54 +0000 (13:42 +0000)]
* dust.c (zero): correct lower bound for wrapping to avoid loss of precision.

13 years agoremoved and renamed more variables.
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 16:55:00 +0000 (16:55 +0000)]
removed and renamed more variables.

13 years agoPut all ship-death code into kill_ship(), removed unnecessary variables.
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 16:06:23 +0000 (16:06 +0000)]
Put all ship-death code into kill_ship(), removed unnecessary variables.

13 years agoRemoved unnecessary command-line options. 0.5
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 03:50:28 +0000 (03:50 +0000)]
Removed unnecessary command-line options.

* args.c (opt_music): removed (consolidated with opt_sound).

13 years agoAdded a 48x48 version of the ship for use as an icon.
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 02:56:40 +0000 (02:56 +0000)]
Added a 48x48 version of the ship for use as an icon.

13 years agoRemoved old icons (now recommending ship.png).
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 02:36:23 +0000 (02:36 +0000)]
Removed old icons (now recommending ship.png).

13 years agoupdated website URL in README.
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 02:15:06 +0000 (02:15 +0000)]
updated website URL in README.

13 years agoNo more svn in README, fixed contact form URL.
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 00:36:45 +0000 (00:36 +0000)]
No more svn in README, fixed contact form URL.

13 years agoupdated version number.
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 00:14:01 +0000 (00:14 +0000)]
updated version number.

13 years agomusic on by default
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 00:13:43 +0000 (00:13 +0000)]
music on by default

13 years agoMakefile: moved font_guts to data-clean.
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 00:13:00 +0000 (00:13 +0000)]
Makefile: moved font_guts to data-clean.

13 years agostoring font template uncompressed, updated gfx.mk appropriately.
Joshua Grams [Sat, 17 Feb 2007 00:12:11 +0000 (00:12 +0000)]
storing font template uncompressed, updated gfx.mk appropriately.

13 years agoAdded .gitignore, stopped tracking data/font.png.
Joshua Grams [Fri, 16 Feb 2007 14:18:21 +0000 (14:18 +0000)]
Added .gitignore, stopped tracking data/font.png.

13 years agoChanges from August-November 2006 -- detailed history was lost.
Jason Woofenden [Fri, 16 Feb 2007 14:06:37 +0000 (14:06 +0000)]
Changes from August-November 2006 -- detailed history was lost.

Rounding errors that were causing crashes on x86.
POV-Ray font.
High score name entry.

13 years agostarted fiddling with explosion graphics: now it's not dependant on framerate
Jason Woofenden [Tue, 11 Jul 2006 18:22:34 +0000 (18:22 +0000)]
started fiddling with explosion graphics: now it's not dependant on framerate
only lock surfaces if SDL_MUSTLOCK() says we must
comented out alpha fading thing on 'game over' and other messages

13 years agooops, put background back
Joshua Grams [Thu, 29 Jun 2006 19:01:39 +0000 (19:01 +0000)]
oops, put background back

13 years agoprint total FPS
Joshua Grams [Thu, 29 Jun 2006 19:01:26 +0000 (19:01 +0000)]
print total FPS

13 years agomore refactoring in main.c
Joshua Grams [Wed, 28 Jun 2006 20:16:37 +0000 (20:16 +0000)]
more refactoring in main.c

13 years agostarted ship in the middle vertically (instead of the top of the ship in the middle)
Jason Woofenden [Mon, 26 Jun 2006 19:34:14 +0000 (19:34 +0000)]
started ship in the middle vertically (instead of the top of the ship in the middle)

13 years agonow scrolling to center of ship, not its top-left corner
Joshua Grams [Thu, 22 Jun 2006 21:55:24 +0000 (21:55 +0000)]
now scrolling to center of ship, not its top-left corner

13 years agooops, was drawing *inactive* bang dots
Joshua Grams [Thu, 22 Jun 2006 21:53:30 +0000 (21:53 +0000)]
oops, was drawing *inactive* bang dots